Assassin's Creed system requirements + tips thread

Tech support for Assassin's Creed 1

Re: Assassin's Creed system requirements thread

Postby Blín D'ñero » 14 May 2008, 18:57

NO need to install the patch. I won't. It removes the DX10.1 support.
On Vista, if you have a ATI HD 3xxx / 4xxx card, you'll lose performance.
Best is (with Radeon HD 3xxx/4xxx):
Vista SP1, game version 1 (=1.01), and enabled Multisampling=3 through editing Assassin.ini.

Or (all cards, XP and Vista), just run the DirectX9.0c version.
DX9.0c vs DX10 comparison.


Image
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT GAMING X * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black / Gold HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 10 x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Corsair K68 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8272
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Assassin's Creed system requirements + tips thread

Postby Blín D'ñero » 23 May 2008, 19:12

It seems in some cases (people reporting) that disabling the Update function fixed for them the game being blocked to run at all. Probably a firewall issue then...
Try blocking the Updater in your (or Windows-) firewall.
Or, disconnect your Network (Internet) Connection.
Or, just rename the folder "Resources" in the game's directory, by adding an "X", to XResources"... it should put it out of order as well. Of course, always launch the game from the shortcut (you created off the game's exe), instead of from the dvd's autorun because it will not run when it cannot find Resources.

I personally haven't had any problem related to the updater. I haven't disabled it and still running 100.1 version of the game.

Also, make sure no unneeded programs are running on the background, email notifications, anti-virus, systemprotection software etc.
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT GAMING X * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black / Gold HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 10 x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Corsair K68 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8272
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Assassin's Creed system requirements + tips thread

Postby Blín D'ñero » 07 Jul 2008, 23:45

I don't know how many of you out there don't have that, but the game expects your keyboard and mouse in their respective ports directly on (the backside of) your PC. Do not connect them via a USB hub or usb-port on your monitor or keyboard etc.
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT GAMING X * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black / Gold HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 10 x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Corsair K68 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8272
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Assassin's Creed system requirements + tips thread

Postby Blín D'ñero » 22 Jul 2008, 01:46

ATI Radeon HD 2600 users, update to Catalyst 8.7 or higher.

Assassin's Creed: Attempting to launch the game on a system containing an ATI Radeon™ HD 2600 series of product and running the Windows Vista operating system (32 bit version) no longer results in the game exiting to the desktop. Further details can be found in topic number 737-35804
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT GAMING X * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black / Gold HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 10 x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Corsair K68 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8272
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Assassin's Creed system requirements + tips thread

Postby Blín D'ñero » 08 Aug 2008, 21:25

To play the game with XBox360 controller:

Make sure to disable your antivirus- and system protection software before installing.

1. download and install Xinput Driver for Microsoft Common Controller (32 Bit).

2. download your controller image

3. download and install XPadder v 5.3

4. plug in controller + headset into controller

5. calibrate and test controller

Make sure you don't have another controller plugged in like f.i. a Nostromo controller.
And make sure the XBox360 controller is turned on before launching Assassin's Creed.

Anything not clear, see FAQ
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT GAMING X * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black / Gold HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 10 x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Corsair K68 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8272
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Assassin's Creed system requirements + tips thread

Postby Blín D'ñero » 16 Aug 2008, 00:17

The game seems to run fine on Dell DXP061
with Intel Pentium D 2.80GHz
1 GB system RAM,
and GF 7300LE according to this thread

Also on a middle-of-the-road laptop Dell Inspiron 1720
Core2 Duo T8300 @ 2.40GHz
3070MB RAM
GeForce 8600M GT
as seen in this thread

Also on TOSHIBA Satellite A200
Intel Core2Duo T7250 @ 2.00GHz
2046MB RAM
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2600
Realtek High Definition Audio
as seen in this thread

and on a laptop with
Core 2 Duo 2.52 Ghz
9600m GT
4 GB ram
x64 vista OS
seen in this thread

and on a Alienware Aurora m9700 laptop
AMD Turion 64 Mobile ML-44
GeForce Go 7900 GS
2048MB RAM
XP SP3
seen in this thread

and on a laptop with
Core 2 Duo 2.52 Ghz
9600m GT
4 GB ram
x64 vista OS
seen in this thread
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT GAMING X * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black / Gold HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 10 x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Corsair K68 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8272
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Assassin's Creed system requirements + tips thread

Postby Blín D'ñero » 23 Aug 2008, 11:16

Logitech mouse users who have installed Setpoint software: you may encounter problems with the game's controls (if you want to customize them) unless you create a profile for Assassin's Creed.
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT GAMING X * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black / Gold HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 10 x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Corsair K68 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8272
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Assassin's Creed system requirements + tips thread

Postby Blín D'ñero » 01 Sep 2008, 00:12

The large number of nVidia GF 8xxx and 9xxx users getting crashes in this game that can only be fixed through lowering the mem speed.
Wondering why that is, then you might want to read this: Nvidia GPU failures caused by material problem, sources claim
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT GAMING X * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black / Gold HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 10 x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Corsair K68 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8272
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Assassin's Creed system requirements + tips thread

Postby Blín D'ñero » 13 Sep 2008, 11:48

Make sure your DVD-player is not connected to a PCI-ATA card. It seems that SecuROM copyprotection sees optical drives running through a PCI-ATA card as virtual drives, subsequently blocks the game from running.
So make sure the DVD-player is directly connected to a ATA (IDE) port on the motherboard.
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT GAMING X * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black / Gold HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 10 x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Corsair K68 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8272
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Assassin's Creed system requirements + tips thread

Postby Blín D'ñero » 02 Dec 2008, 08:36

I just had a crazy idea. I suspect some people who have problems running the game on an otherwise fine PC, are launching it from the automenu when they put the dvd in the player. Do NOT launch the game that way.
ALWAYS launch it from the shortcut on desktop. If there isn't any (Vista), create one. From either AssassinsCreed_Dx9.exe or AssassinsCreed_Dx10.exe depending on the capabilities of your computer.
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT GAMING X * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black / Gold HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 10 x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Corsair K68 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8272
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

PreviousNext

Return to Assassin's Creed 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron