Catalyst 10.3 won't work on HD5xxx and CRT, Win 7 x64

Get assistance for technical problems with your PC. Or share your insights.

Catalyst 10.3 won't work on HD5xxx and CRT, Win 7 x64

Postby Blín D'ñero » 25 Mar 2010, 04:14

D3D not available, computer locked, after reboot Cat 10.3.
ATI Catalyst 10.3 problem with CRT, Windows 7 x64, HD5870.

"Direct3D is not available because the computer is locked. Keep retrying?"

After installing Cat 10.3, when i tried to run Mass Effect 2, i got this instead:

Image
every 30 seconds, mouse almost unuseable, pc obviously under big stress, untill i rebooted.
Again tried to start ME2: its launch menu appeared, but after i clicked "Play", again that drd error.
Reinstalled DirectXFeb2010, reinstalled Cat 10.3, no difference.
Again tried to start ME2: its launch menu appeared, but after i clicked "Play", again that drd error.
Tried to launch Need For Speed Shift: after the securom check (spinning dvd icon), nothing happened, not even d3d error. (Same as the 10.3 preview driver i had tried for half an hour before i reverted (via System Restore) to 10.2).

In Desktop -> Screen Resolution, these options were present with Cat 10.2 installed:

Image

With Cat 10.3 it was the same, UNTIL AFTER REBOOTING, then there was only one: "1600x1200" in my case, and it was greyed out. "Advanced settings" was a dead link (nothing happened):

Image

And in CCC Desktop properties ONLY 1600x1200 and 85Hz was available, while in Catalyst 10.2 and in 10.3 before rebooting it is how it should:

Image

I reverted to Cat 10.2 (via System Restore), and the resolutions options are back (as in the pictures) and the games run again! :thup:
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * 2× Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X in crossfire * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Mamba TE * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7768
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Catalyst 10.3 won't work on HD5xxx and CRT, Win 7 x64

Postby Blín D'ñero » 25 Mar 2010, 18:51

When did ATI announce that CRT's are no longer supported, and all their customers MUST buy a digital monitor, or else stop using ATI videocards? :confused:

And question 2 :clown: how could Microsoft stamp this driver WHQL while it aknowledges an awesome amount of CRT's in monitor.sys, in Windows 7?
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * 2× Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X in crossfire * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Mamba TE * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7768
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Catalyst 10.3 won't work on HD5xxx and CRT, Win 7 x64

Postby Blín D'ñero » 25 Mar 2010, 21:37

I retried Cat 10.3.
After reboot, the '3D preview' didn't even load:

Image

I exported the cat 10.3 registry key (might need to investigate), and reverted back to catalyst 10.2 again.
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * 2× Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X in crossfire * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Mamba TE * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7768
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Catalyst 10.3 won't work on HD5xxx and CRT, Win 7 x64

Postby Blín D'ñero » 26 Mar 2010, 02:10

Couldn't stand it, not knowing what's causing it. Created a third system restore point just to be sure and installed 10.3 again (so now i have 3 pristine history points to fall back on).

Observations:
  • as long as i don't reboot, the system seems to be working fine.
  • Atm playing Mass Effect 2.
  • I looked at services tab in Task Manger, aticlxx.exe was running. It is AMD external events module. BUT i had that disabled in services. And it was disabled in my selective bootup in msconfig\services. Yet when installing 10.3, it enables itself.
    Combine that with the system going into d3d-feaver after rebooting....
    Going to game some, and after that i'll look further.
  • What happens: with 10.3 installed, the system is completely fine. Including all resolutions in win 7 desktop appearance and CCC, so it seems the issue has nothing to do with my monitor being a CRT.
    I played ME2, NFS:Shift, everything fine.
    Untill i reboot the PC.

    As long as i don't have a solution for this, i stay with cat 10.2.
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * 2× Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X in crossfire * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Mamba TE * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7768
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Catalyst 10.3 won't work on HD5xxx and CRT, Win 7 x64

Postby Blín D'ñero » 26 Mar 2010, 22:14

Kept me bothering. :inv:
What i did today was:

=1= In Catalyst 10.2 i unchecked EDID.
-
=2= In Device Manager i "Updated" the monitor driver to Generic PnP monitor from the generic Windows list. Even after reboot, Windows Display appearance said it's a T965. But in Advanced Settings > Properties it was changed to Generic PnP monitor (instead of the T965 as in the picture, i made in catalyst 10.2) but the rest was the same anyway.
-
Image
-
=3= Uninstalled Catalyst 10.2 and Catalyst Profiles and manually removed ATI folders in Temp and Appdata Local and Roaming.
-
=4= Installed Catalyst 10.3. It automatically had EDID enabled and it recognized my monitor as a T965.
I unchecked EDID. Made no difference: resolutions did not go past 85 Hz, just like before in Cat 10.2
-
Image
-

=5= The weird thing is that Cat 10.3 added Image Scaling, on my CRT monitor:
-
Image
-
=6= I launched and played Mass Effect 2. :up:
-
=7= I rebooted. Then observed:
    • CCC: the Image scaling tab was now gone.
      -
    • The '3D- preview' was unable to launch, as launching a game was a no-go.
      -
    • In Windows Desktop > display appearance, monitor resolution is greyed out again with dead 'Advanced Settings' link
    Image

    Image
-
(In EventViewer i find the message: "The Desktop Window Manager was unable to start because WDDM is not in use")
-
=8= In CCC: Monitor Properties, i checked EDID to see what would happen.
-
Image
-
Still no 3D preview. No games able to launch.
-
=9= In CCC: Monitor Properties, i unchecked EDID. It then gives me options upto 200Hz
-
Image
-
Nevertheless, still no 3D preview. No games able to launch.
-
=10= In CCC: Desktop Properties, i now had only 1600 x 1200 and 85 Hz, just as in the greyed out Windows desktop > Display appearance
-
=11= I restored my system to Cat 10.2
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * 2× Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X in crossfire * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Mamba TE * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7768
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Catalyst 10.3 won't work on HD5xxx and CRT, Win 7 x64

Postby Blín D'ñero » 27 Mar 2010, 10:41

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=279&threadid=130026&enterthread=y
http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=279&threadid=130364&enterthread=y

^these links no longer work, as ati forum admin deleted threads and posts at random will. The thread is now here: http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=279&threadid=130026&enterthread=y

richardh754 wrote: [...]
if you connect through HDMI to a TV or monitor the 10.3 drivers work!


Switching to HDMI connection seems to fix it... on a digital screen of course. But it figures: D-Sub and Windows 7 x64 is problem zone for Cat 10.3...


Catalyst 10.3 won't work on HD5xxx and D-Sub to CRT monitor, Windows 7 x64.
ATI please fix ASAP!
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * 2× Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X in crossfire * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Mamba TE * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7768
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Catalyst 10.3 won't work on HD5xxx and CRT, Win 7 x64

Postby Blín D'ñero » 29 Mar 2010, 23:44

On AMD/ATI forum, posts / threads get deleted at random will of some "moderator". That pisses me off even more than this issue already does. That attitude is going to cost them on the long run. Bad for business i tell you. It's unwise to leave the moderation tools in the hands of this moron. :nuts: and this. :nuts: He also deleted posts in the one existing thread that he allowed, posts that contained mentioning deleting posts by the admin.
My deleted post:
I recreated the vanished post. Surprise: IT DISAPPEARED AGAIN. Without notice. That is the opposite of moderatorship.

To the mod who did that: read before you delete. My posts are about Catalyst 10.3 WHQL, not about betas.

Catalyst 10.3 WHQL does not work for HD5xxx & CRT users. Do you understand how serious that is.

I'm using an Eizo T965 CRT monitor, and HD5870 crossfire. My other 3 PC's in this network are all with CRT's as well.

After installing 10.3 WHQL, the system is completely fine. But after rebooting: 3D apps no longer working. No games, no '3D Preview' in CCC, desktop display appearance has only a single resolution (which is greyed out), and advanced settings inaccessable.

I have the issue documented clearly in this thread on my forum http://www.blindnero.com/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1944


ATI when did you announce that CRT's are no longer supported? I wouldn't have bought these 2 x HD 5870's.

ATI please fix this ASAP !!!



Odd company, ATI. ATI driver beta testing sucks, that's obvious during years already. ATI's forum is hideous with that bleeding red font on black. And the attitude of the guy they trusted with the admin tools... on the platform of communication with their customers. Why do i even keep buying their cards.

A lot of threads on AMD forums that google finds on your searchquery do not exist anymore, only in google's cache you can read them (usually only page 1 that is).
And he is a usual poster on rage3d random post and besides the fact that he spends his days as the AMD forum admin, according to his sig, he also
is an AMD/ATI Beta Tester but still claims he "does NOT work for AMD/ATI!!!!"
:clown: :thdown: /hypocrite
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * 2× Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X in crossfire * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Mamba TE * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7768
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Catalyst 10.3 won't work on HD5xxx and CRT, Win 7 x64

Postby Blín D'ñero » 01 Apr 2010, 23:26

This thread @ amd forums seems to indicate that it is not an issue with CRT but essentially with the cable connection. Even an LCD screen connected via d-sub (= standard vga connection which all crt's use) gives the same symptom.
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * 2× Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X in crossfire * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Mamba TE * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7768
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Catalyst 10.3 won't work on HD5xxx and CRT, Win 7 x64

Postby Blín D'ñero » 02 Apr 2010, 13:14

With a Display Port > VGA adapter between the card and the CRT it seems to work too. Thread (Eyefinity on 3 CRT's) on Catalyst 10.3a.

So, the bug in Catalyst 10.3 affects any type of monitor connected via a DVI > D-sub (standard VGA) adapter.

Like most users with a CRT i connect the monitor cable to the DVI to D-Sub adapter/converter (that goes with the card) and plug that in the DVI port on the card.
Image
Apparently the 10.3 drivers faint when they meet a dvi to d-sub converter {on a HD5xxx}. While displayport to d-sub converter does work. I don't know if a hdmi to d-sub converter even exists.
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * 2× Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X in crossfire * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Mamba TE * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7768
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Catalyst 10.3 won't work on HD5xxx and CRT, Win 7 x64

Postby Blín D'ñero » 04 Apr 2010, 11:01

Displayport to D-Sub (VGA) converter is not a sensible option for CRT because:
BubTheZombie wrote:[DP->VGA adapters ] they transcode from digital to analogue, they would be bandwidth limited. Upon further checking I confirmed that they are restricted to 60hz for higher resolutions which, whilst fine for digital displays, would be a disaster for a CRT one.

Source (scroll down to the post)
widescreengamingforum
Gaming PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * 2× Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X in crossfire * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *

Workhorse PC 2: * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Mamba TE * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7768
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to PC Tech Issues and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron