Windows 7 > Vista local networking woes

Get assistance for technical problems with your PC. Or share your insights.

Windows 7 > Vista local networking woes

Postby Blín D'ñero » 18 Mar 2010, 21:26

Situation: all my PC's have their own internet connection from a router.

Today i bought a gigabit switch for gigabit speed local network only. So: all PC's will be member to 2 seperate networks.

Damned what did they do to it in W7! Vista has no problem with it.

Solution posted by Reckless_Dane on technet.microsoft forum:
I have a real solution to CHANGE PUBLIC NETWORK to a HOME or WORK NETWORK . I had the same problem. I don't know if the thought behind it was to treat dynamic networks as hostile environments, or whether the documentation that stated "First time joining a network - you can select HOME, WORK OR PUBLIC " actually meant first of ALL networks & not per adapter, but anyway:


  1. DISABLE ALL NETWORK ADAPTERS
  2. ENABLE THE ADAPTER THAT'S ONLY SHOWING UP THE UNCHANGEABLE PUBLIC NETWORK
  3. IN THE NETWORK AND SHARING CENTER, SELECT "CHOOSE HOMEGROUP AND SHARING OPTIONS"
  4. CLICK ON "WHAT IS THIS LOCATION?"
  5. SELECT HOME/WORK
  6. RE-ENABLE ALL OTHER ADAPTERS
this sorted out my frustrations & now I can continue to live another day.

windows 7 (x64)
by Reckless_Dane Thursday, October 01, 2009 5:42 PM
Main PC: Asus ROG Strix X570-E * AMD Ryzen 7 3800x * Noctua NH-D15 * Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB * MSI Radeon 5700XT * Creative AE-9PE * 2 x Corsair Force MP600 * 7 x WD Gold HDD * 1 x Asus DRW-24D5MT * Windows 10 x64 *

Office PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * Corsair Force MP510 480GB M.2 SSD * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * Sapphire Radeon R9 290 * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black / Gold HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 10 x64 *

Old Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 10 x64 *

Outdated PC * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Corsair K68 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8559
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Windows 7 > Vista local networking woes

Postby Blín D'ñero » 19 Mar 2010, 00:28

Ah... i got that wrong initially.
I had: all PC's keep direct connection to router. Seperately they also connect to the switch (via lan connection 2). That setup was understood and accepted on Vista (2 seperate local home networks) but did not work on Windows 7. That is: it was accepted and aknowledged but when i transferred files it went over the router- LAN instead of the switch-LAN. My headache and stress decided to do what the shop that sold me the switch had recommended.

What now works:
PC's -> Switch -> Router. That's how it's done. And works flawlessly. :)
Main PC: Asus ROG Strix X570-E * AMD Ryzen 7 3800x * Noctua NH-D15 * Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB * MSI Radeon 5700XT * Creative AE-9PE * 2 x Corsair Force MP600 * 7 x WD Gold HDD * 1 x Asus DRW-24D5MT * Windows 10 x64 *

Office PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * Corsair Force MP510 480GB M.2 SSD * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * Sapphire Radeon R9 290 * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black / Gold HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 10 x64 *

Old Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 10 x64 *

Outdated PC * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Corsair K68 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8559
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Windows 7 > Vista local networking woes

Postby Blín D'ñero » 19 Mar 2010, 00:36

I now want to know how much faster it is than what i used to have before the gigabit switch. I never measured, but it just was annoyingly slow.

As i understood: 1 Gigabit is 1000 / 8 = 125 Megabytes/s

Anyways... it now is NOTICEABLY faster, i just moved a 600MB file from one PC to the other... wow, within 2 seconds. Gonna double-check now...
From the Win 7 PC:
-upload of 600MB to the Vistax64 PC: 31 seconds.
-download of 600 MB from the Vista PC: 3 seconds!

Why the difference?
Now from the Vista PC:
download of 600 MB from the W7 PC to this Vista PC: 31 seconds!

Ehmm... drivers?
Main PC: Asus ROG Strix X570-E * AMD Ryzen 7 3800x * Noctua NH-D15 * Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB * MSI Radeon 5700XT * Creative AE-9PE * 2 x Corsair Force MP600 * 7 x WD Gold HDD * 1 x Asus DRW-24D5MT * Windows 10 x64 *

Office PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * Corsair Force MP510 480GB M.2 SSD * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * Sapphire Radeon R9 290 * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black / Gold HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 10 x64 *

Old Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 10 x64 *

Outdated PC * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Corsair K68 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8559
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Windows 7 > Vista local networking woes

Postby Blín D'ñero » 19 Mar 2010, 01:47

YES! Updated Marvell Yukon drivers on both machines and now it is like this:

On: the Win 7 PC
Get a file from: the Vista PC
Size: 600 MB
Time that it takes: 3 seconds (before the driver update: 3)


On: the Vista PC
Get a file from: the Win 7 PC
Size: 600 MB
Time that it takes: 5 seconds! (before the driver update: 31)

So on the Vista PC it's 2 seconds slower. But it is 26 seconds faster than it was!
Main PC: Asus ROG Strix X570-E * AMD Ryzen 7 3800x * Noctua NH-D15 * Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB * MSI Radeon 5700XT * Creative AE-9PE * 2 x Corsair Force MP600 * 7 x WD Gold HDD * 1 x Asus DRW-24D5MT * Windows 10 x64 *

Office PC: * Intel i7 4790K * Noctua NH-D15S * Asus Maximus VII Hero * Corsair Force MP510 480GB M.2 SSD * 32 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX3M4A2133C9 * Sapphire Radeon R9 290 * Dell U3010 @ 2560 x 1600 / 60Hz * Corsair AX 1200W * 7 x WD Black / Gold HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Asus DRW F1ST * Corsair K95 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S530 * Sennheiser HD598 * Windows 10 x64 *

Old Workhorse PC: * Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz * Noctua NH-D15 * Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z * 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A1866C9 * Sapphire HD7970 crossfire * 3 x Dell U2410 @ Eyefinity 5760 x 1200 / 60Hz * Corsair HX 1000i * 7 x WD Black HDDs * Creative Soundblaster ZxR * Optiarc AD 5240S * Steelseries 7G * Razer Imperator 2012 * Steelseries 9HD * Coolermaster STC T01 * Edifier S730D * Windows 10 x64 *

Outdated PC * Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 Ghz * Zalman CNPS9900A LED * Asus Sabertooth x58 * 24 GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 * Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X * Dell P4317Q * Corsair HX 850W * 7 x WDC WD1002FAEX * Creative Soundblaster Z * Optiarc AD 5240S * Corsair K68 RGB * Corsair M65 PRO RGB * Coolermaster STC T01 * Logitech Z-2300 * Windows 7 Ultimate x64 *
User avatar
Blín D'ñero
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8559
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands


Return to PC Tech Issues and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron